Notable Member Accomplishments

Dr. Roger Pulwarty is the recipient of the 2016 Gilbert F. White Distinguished Lecture Award. Dr. Roger S. Pulwarty is the Senior Science Advisor for Climate, and the Director of the National Integrated Drought Information System (NIDIS) at the NOAA Office of Oceans and Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado. Roger’s publications focus on climate and risk management in the U.S., Latin America and the Caribbean. A description of the award, as well as the nomination form can be found here. Please submit nominations to section president Ramesh Singh (

Dr. Társilo Girona was selected for the 2016 Natural Hazards Section Graduate Research Award (GRA). Dr. Girona is currently a postdoctoral research associate at Brown University. The award is for his doctoral work at the Earth Observatory of Singapore. He works on understanding and quantifying the processes that precede volcanic eruptions. He has conducted theoretical and experimental studies and developed new techniques to monitor volcanic plumes. He also applied them to active volcanoes. He is collaborating with government agencies for implementing his findings for hazard mitigation. He has published his research in Journal of Geophysical Research (a high impact AGU journal) and in Science Report (a Nature Journal group). More information on Dr. Girona and the award can be found here. Nominations for the 2017 Natural Hazards GRA can be made at and are due on April 15, 2017.

Dr. Dalia Kirschbaum is one of the 102 scientists and researchers named as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their careers. Dr. Dalia B. Kirschbaum is a Research Physical Scientist in the Hydrological Sciences Lab at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD and is Associate Deputy Project Scientist for Applications for the Global Precipitation Measurement Mission. Her research interests center on rainfall-triggered landslide modeling, focusing on applying remotely sensed surface and precipitation information to landslide hazard models at multiple spatial and temporal scales. More information and the full list of 2017 PECASE winners can be found here.

The Outstanding Student Paper Awards (OSPAs) are awarded to promote, recognize and reward undergraduate, Master’s and PhD students for quality research in the geophysical sciences. Each year, sections and sections recruit judges to assess and score student oral and poster presentations at meetings. Typically the top 3-5% of presenters in each section are awarded an OSPA. The following three students were recognized by Natural Hazards Section for 2016 Fall Meeting

  • Karoline Messenzehl
  • Katherine Serafin
  • Maya Buchanan

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Pulwarty, Dr. Kirschbaum, Dr. Girona, Karoline, Katherine, and Maya! If you are willing to act as an OSPA judge at the Fall 2017 meeting, please contact Secretary Natural Hazards Section Daniel Wright –

Blog Archives